top of page

Book Review: THE SONG OF ACHILLES

SYNOPSIS

Set in the Greek Heroic Age, The Song Of Achilles is a poignant tale of love, friendship, kings, gods, fate, war, glory, and the price that comes with it.

Patroclus is a young, awkward prince sent for exile in the court of King Peleus and his perfect son, Achilles, a half-god destined to be the best of the Greeks. Despite their differences, Achilles befriends Patroclus and, they soon develop a strong and deep bond, much to the displeasure of Achilles' mother, Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

When the word comes that the Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, the Greek warriors are called upon for war. Achilles must go to the distant Troy to fulfill his destiny,

Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years to come will test everything they hold dear.


MY REVIEW

I had heard a lot about The Song Of Achilles so that's why I decided to read it - to know why everyone is so crazy over it. And after reading, anyone would know why. It is such an exceptional read and worthy of the praise it gets.

I loved this book so much. It is so beautifully tragic. The love between Patroclus and Achilles is so gorgeously described. So raw and breathtaking. The one thing that caught my eye since the beginning was the way the author, Madeline Miller, narrated everything. So poetic and metaphorical.


Another thing that makes The Song Of Achilles such an enjoyable read is the narration of the story through the perspective of Patroclus. The way Patroclus describes Achilles, not the demigod destined to be the best of the warriors but the boy who is his confidante, is what makes it such a lovely story.

The first half of the story portrays Patroclus' childhood together with Achilles.

It is in the second half that their dire fates unveil and readers get a clue of what to anticipate in the end. There are twists in the story that I didn't expect. In the end, this masterpiece of a story will leave you heart-wrenching.



Below are some of my favorite lines from the novel~


"And perhaps it is the greater grief, after all, to be left on earth, when another is gone.”


"When he died, all the things swift and beautiful and bright would be buried with him."

"I would not care. Whatever you became. It would not matter to me. We would be together."


"He had light enough to make heroes of them all."


"Patroclus. I have given enough to them. I will not give them this."


"I would know him in death, at the end of the world. "


"He is half of my soul, as the poets say."


"You can use a spear as a walking stick, but that will not change its nature."


"The last thing I think is: Achilles."


"Maybe her gods are kinder than ours, and she will find rest. I would give my life again to make it so."


"I am made of memories."


Related Posts

See All

1 commentaire


tanya pal
tanya pal
11 janv. 2022

lovely!!


J'aime
bottom of page