top of page

This blog is a reminder.

Today was Ram Navmi, and all nine of my fasts were done. I was so eagerly waiting for this day. Honestly, nine days felt like an eternity. Even though I ate fruits, my taste buds were starved of flavor. For nine days, I sustained on simple, tasteless foods, and only I know what I went through. But I would not say that it was a bad experience. Fasting is good for health. And I'm now thinking of incorporating it into my life. I don't think I've eaten healthier meals than this and have gone without eating for about 7-8 hours before. It could really help me control my temptations for delicacies. I had about 4-5 kiwis daily. Imagine the increase in my thrombocytes. These nine days of fasting made me realize my own strength and willpower. I somehow made it to the end despite countless moments of thinking about giving up.

And while it was a good decision for me, health-wise, I don't think I'll ever do nine-day fasting again. I mean, I'd go about 12 hours a day without eating and then have tasty meals; I'll never go nine days of eating simple foods as is done in Hindu traditions. And no matter how many days of fasting I go into and how much I think about living a healthier lifestyle, I don't think I'll ever be able to give up on my love for food. And I sometimes also wonder where this immense love for food stems from. I mean, why are some people so crazy over some things, while others just don't care? And as far as I can remember, I've always had a thing for good food. A part of me thinks I was born with this. But whatever.

Today I ate loads and loads. I ordered pizza, had wafers, snacks, a cold drink, and junk food enough to compensate for a whole nine days of fruits. Starting from tomorrow, I promise myself to put constraints on my eating habits. Moreover, I promise myself to remember what an experience this was and to never keep fasts for more than 24 hours.

You know, it's interesting how during those days I was like, I won't get myself into this ever again, and it's such a torture. Just one day ago, I was thinking how difficult this is, but just as I knew the fasting period was over and I'm free to eat whatever I like, thoughts like how it wasn't as bad and maybe I could fast for nine days or even a month came to me. I mean, just a few hours ago, I was thinking very differently, and now I'm a totally different person. And it makes me think about how, once everything is done, it doesn't seem as difficult, and we remember it as a time of learning. Or maybe it's just me, but I feel every situation, no matter how bad, doesn't feel as bad when we overcome it. I don't know if it is a curse or a blessing—forgetting the strain we went through and seeing things through rose-colored lenses.

Well, whatever it is, I just hope this blog serves its purpose as a reminder; otherwise, what's the point?

So that's that for today.

Bye.

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page